August Moon

August 21, 2013 at 1:45 pm | Posted in canada, kayak, lake, ontario, summer, Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I got into my kayak and went out for full moon paddle.  The weather was perfect and the water was clear of traffic.  The moon made it more than bright enough to navigate and I managed to even see a shooting star.  It would probably be worth my while to go on a new moon where I can see more stars but virtually impossible to sketch or paint anything without a headlamp.  These pics were made with just the dusk and moonlight but I still had to struggle finding the right amount of color and saturation.  I took a sharpie with me so I could just ink in the tree line and not worry about washing over it with pigment.  It was a great night and I will be sure to get out there for a harvest moon.

ON_Aug20A_2013

ON_SimcoeAug20C_2013

ON_SimcoeAug20B_2013

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a good idea to just Sharpie in the tree line. Must remember that. Lovely landscape portraits.

    • Thanks, I tried using prisma color, but they bleed when you put a wash over it. Perhaps a china marker or cheap waxy crayolas will work, but Sharpies will give you a sharp and black line that dries quick with no bleeding.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

