Lake Simcoe, Late Sept Dusk

September 28, 2013 at 10:09 am | Posted in canada, fall, kayak, lake, ontario | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Going out for another late kayak trip to capture the sunset.  The water was calm and it was still a very nice warm day to be out on the water.  Unfortunately I didn’t bring my spray skirt and after being distracted from sketching the sunset the winds picked up and I ended up paddling against some serious head winds.  The waves splashed into the kayak and with not much light I started to think my kayak wouldn’t make it back to shore.  Sometimes I paddle out to the deeper part of the lake to get a different view of the shore but Lake Simcoe is a very big lake and the weather can change very quickly.  I should have known the evening winds can come in pretty fast and so it would have been smarter to stay closer to shore where there is less wind.  Nonetheless, you need to respect mother nature and next time I’ll be sure to have my spray skirt with me if I decide to wander out too far.

ON_LakeSimcoe_Sept26_2013

ON_JacksonsPointe_LakeSimcoe_Sept26

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

